Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Broken Arrow Athletic Department


Ajax Loading Image


Blackburn, Morales earn conference MVP honors

11 players gain league recognition; Bullen named Coach of the Year

Macy Blackburn and Natalie Morales
5dbb39762ef8eMacy Blackburn and Natalie Morales
Macy Blackburn and Natalie Morales

Broken Arrow garnered three of the top four 2019 Frontier Valley Conference Volleyball Awards with Macy Blackburn and Natalie Morales named the conference’s Offensive and Defensive MVPs, respectively, and Ian Bullen  voted Coach of the Year.

Tiger First Team All-Conference players were Haylie Jones, Mackenzie McGuire and Alyssa Smith. Gracie Daniels was named Second Team All-Conference.

Olivia Boss, Halle Bullen, Kiana Clark, Kendall Ferguson and Kailey Hatthorn earned Honorable Mention.

Blackburn, a senior, led the team with 397 kills, 151 digs and 59 blocks. Morales, senior Libero, had a team-best 490 digs to go along with 54 service aces and a 91.5 serve percentage.

Jones, a senior setter, finished the season with 674 assists and had a 96.2 serve percentage. The sophomore McGuire had 245 kills. Smith, a senior, register 214 kills and 233 digs. Daniels, a senior, had 165 kills, 50 aces and a team-high 68 blocks.

Boss, a junior, finished the season with 153 kills and 37 blocks. Bullen, a junior defensive specialist, had 155 digs and served at better than 91 percent.  Clark, a senior, recorded 85 blocks to go along with 57 blocks. Ferguson, a senior, served at 95 percent, registered 25 aces and 302 assists. Hatthorn recorded 131 kills and 33 blocks her senior season.

Broken Arrow finished the season 32-3, reaching the Class 6A state finals for the first time since winning the school’s only volleyball title in 1993.

The all-conference team was voted on by the league’s volleyball coaches. Conference schools are: Bartlesville, Bixby, Bixby, Booker T. Washington, Broken Arrow, Jenks, Muskogee, Owasso, Sand Springs, Sapulpa, and Union.