Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Broken Arrow Athletic Department


Ajax Loading Image


BA Tiger athletes celebrated on National Signing Day 19

 BA Tiger athletes who were celebrated on National Signing Day 2019 listen to guest speaker and former Tiger Isaac Armstead.
5c5b54fb08de9BA Tiger athletes who were celebrated on National Signing Day 2019 listen to guest speaker and former Tiger Isaac Armstead.
Isaac Armstead speaks to the athletes at the NSD19 celebration.
NSD19 in the Varsity Training Center indoor practice facility.
BA Tiger athletes sign letters of intent at the NSD19 Celebration on Wednesday.
Tiger linebacker Gavin Potter made his announcement official at the NSD19 Celebration on Wednesday.
BA Tiger athletes who were celebrated on National Signing Day 2019 listen to guest speaker and former Tiger Isaac Armstead.

Thirty-seven Broken Arrow High School seniors who competed as members of Tiger athletic teams this school year celebrated 2019 National College Signing Day by signing letters of intent, posing for pictures with family and receiving words of encouragement from Superintendent Dr. Janet Dunlop, Athletic Director Steve Dunn and former Tiger Isaac Armstead.

“As I was preparing what to say to these young men and women I thought back to when I was in these seats five years ago, and what would Little Ike and his teammates and all the fellow signees from that day want to hear,” said Armstead, a defensive back and graduate student at the University of South Dakota. “With that, I lead with these three messages: Patience, Perseverance and Purpose. Of these three, I hope you use at least one as you enter the collegiate arena.”

Armstead shared stories of his time at USD, which eventually led to him being named a semifinalists for the 2018 William V. Campbell Trophy – known as the “Academic Heisman” – and to creating The Armstead Foundation, which provides a $1,000 college scholarships to a BAHS senior each year.

“I want to encourage all of you to go make a difference while you’re in college,” he said. “The lasting impacts of giving back are exponential. They help me find my purpose. I challenge you all to seek purpose beyond the field or court. The impact you’ll see is far greater than any you’ll see in a record book.”

Dr. Dunlop congratulated the students on finding the “perfect blend of excellence in academics and athletics.” She also reminded them that no matter where their college journey took them, they would always be Tigers.

After congratulating the athletes, Dunn offered advice that as they “took on this journey, to lean on the people who got you here because they will always be there to love you and support you.”  

Held on the first Wednesday of every February, National Signing Day celebrates talented athletes in a number of collegiate sports, including baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, track and volleyball. Several other BAHS athletes will have an opportunity to sign letters of intent on the spring signing day in April.

Congratulations to Broken Arrow’s 2019 college scholarship athletes:

Malone Cunningham, Pratt CC
Manny Duran, Seminole JC

Miranda Givens, Butler CC

Ashley Wyatt, Rogers State

Quintevin Cherry, Independence CC
Colton Collier, NEO
Noah Cortes, NEO
Matt Kaiser, Pitt State
Trevon Kleint, Fort Scott CC
Zach Marcheselli, TCU
Kaizer Newell, Pitt State
Gavin Potter, University of Kansas
Tate Robards, Morningside College
Demeco Roland, Hutchinson JC
Kaleb Scott, Fort Scott CC
Aaron “Tricky” Stokes, Pitt State
Daxton Wilson, Evangel University

Kobe Ayers, USAO
Cameron Beller, Rogers State
Tyler Broughton, Rogers State
Alex Garcia, University of Tulsa
Sebastian Hernandez, Rogers State

Eden Coffman, NSU
Alexus Ryan, USAO
Payton Smith, NEO

Chloe Jameson, Northern Oklahoma JC
Gracie Jarvis, University of Tulsa
Brooke Mason, Cowley County CC
Lindsey Portell, Washburn University

Annie Kramer, Incarnate Word University

Derian Mastin, Kansas Wesleyan

Keith Smith, UCO

Shelbi Day, Pitt State
Brianna Hays, University of Tulsa

Kallie Fenscke, Johnson County CC

Blake Gonzalez, Oachita Baptist
Reece Witcraft, OSU