Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Broken Arrow Athletic Department


Ajax Loading Image


Noah Cortes named VYPE/Shelter Insurance 2018 Mr. Football

Noah Cortes
5c2e534fd09fdNoah Cortes
Noah Cortes

Broken Arrow Tiger record-setting running back Noah Cortes was named the VYPE Magazine and Shelter Insurance winner of the Mr. Football Oklahoma Award.

The Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Oklahoma Award recognizes the outstanding athletic achievements of Noah Cortes and the high standards of athletic excellence and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, which distinguishes Cortes as Oklahoma’s best high school football player this season.

Cortes finished an historic season with the Broken Arrow Tigers by winning the Class 6AI state title over Jenks High School. The win marked the first state football title for Broken Arrow High School. Under the leadership and guidance of head coach David Alexander, Cortes set the single season rushing record for Broken Arrow and led the team to an undefeated season.

During the season, Cortes rushed for 1,958 yards and 35 touchdowns. In the title game versus Jenks High School, Cortes rushed for 120 yards and a touchdown as the Tigers defeated the Trojans, 28-20. Cortes is Broken Arrow's career rushing leader with 4,444 yards. 

“Noah is a special player," said VYPE Magazine Publisher Austin Chadwick. "Tough, physical, reliable. He embodied the DNA of Broken Arrow’s team and championship run. Proud of a young man that has turned into an exceptional player and person. We wish him good luck from the crew here at VYPE Oklahoma.”

Cortes is the first Tiger football player to win the award and second BA Athlete to be recognized for a season-end VYPE/Shelter Insurance award. Toree Thompson was named Miss Basketball in 2014 after leading the Tigers to a state championship and undefeated season. 

Cortes joins former Mr. Football award winners; Trey’Vonne Barre’-Jenks (2012), Kai Callins-Guthrie (2013), Mason Fine-Locust Grove (2014), Cooper Nunley-Jenks (2015), Shamari Brooks-Union (2016), Joshua Proctor-Owasso (2017).